Flying!

Flying- that’s what I did all morning. I was up early to make it to an early mass before hitting the gym around 8:20. And I took off! I started on the treadmill. Usually I am not the fastest runner but I have some endurance that I’ve built up. Today I was speedy (well at least for a slow runner). I ran 3 miles in under 25 minutes, a record for this girl with extra short legs!

20130303-104929.jpg

Then to round off the 30 minutes I walked for the last five minutes. My machine read this at the end.

20130303-105025.jpg

I walked off the treadmill feeling pretty accomplished ( I could have done another 3-ha!) and I headed upstairs for a well needed stretch.

I love stretching. It is probably my favorite part of my workout. It’s when your heart rate starts to slow down and you really regain some energy after your cardio. Stretching gives me a few minutes to breath and gets me excited and motivated for my second half of my workout.

Unfortunately today I was in a rush- flying remember?- and had to do a quick abdominal workout before running out of the gym. I still had to hit the store- we ran out of almond milk this morning (oh no!) and fly home to shower and get ready for work.

Because I was rushing, I had no time for a nice sit down breakfast, so instead I opted for a quick and easy protein shake. I went classic this morning and made a strawberry banana protein shake.

Ingredients:

1 banana
Handful of spinach
5 very large strawberries
1 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder
5 ice cubes
And enough vanilla almond milk to get it all moving.

Yum yum! It hit the spot and was quick so I was not late to work!

20130303-105709.jpg

Hope your morning was a little more relaxing!

Leave a Reply

