Show me the Mussels!

I took a quick break from a busy day at work to scarf down this delicious salad.

Ingredients:

Iceberg lettuce

chopped up hard-boiled egg

1/2 cup chopped ham

1/2 cup finely chopped bacon

cherry tomatoes

Lite Italian dressing

Mixed together it looked like this

IMG_0032[1]

Now I just have to say a little bit about my new tea addiction.  I used to be a Starbucks Girl- I even worked there for almost a year.  I was quite the caffeine addict (back in my unhealthy days), I could easily drink up to six shots of espresso in one day! For a girl only 4’11 that is A LOT of caffeine! I toned it down a bit after I quite that job- but only for financial reasons.  Finally I came to my senses and realized just what an addict I was- I wanted to prove that I could quit.  So I did- cold turkey.  I stopped drinking all forms of caffeine ( I was never a big pop drinker). Now I know your going to say well tea has caffeine in it- but some teas do not- usually it’s the darker black teas that hold the caffeine.  After quitting my Starbucks addiction, I was looking for a cheaper, healthier replacement.  This is when I discovered Teavana! And let me tell you, I will never go back.  Not only do they have many delicious samples for you to try in stores, you can either just order a drink to go or take your tea home with you. ( you cannot bring a Starbucks Barista home with you- although someone did offer me this option).  After trying a few different flavors and mixing and matching some teas, I settled on one that I usually get every time I’m working.  It is a mixture of Pineapple Kona Pop Herbal tea and Honeybush Vanilla Herbal tea.  Let me just say- it is fruity heaven in a cup and it warms me to the core.  If you are not a fruity person, they have so many teas to choose from, there is definitely something for everyone!

You can order tea and find locations near you at this link. Fun fact- I just found out today that Teavana was just bought out by Starbucks- the irony!

Now onto dinner.

I went out to dinner with my boyfriend’s family and we went to a great french restaurant in Oak Brook, IL.  It was called Mon Ami Gabi and it was wonderful!  I had been there about 6 months ago when it was warm and we could eat outside- I was not as impressed.  Tonight, they definitely changed my mind.  The atmosphere was cozy and we were brought fresh bread right away.  I ended up ordering the Mussels Mariniere and it was fabulous! I am a seafood lover so this was right up my alley.

IMG_0034[1]

They come in an entire bucket (the full order) and they go all the way to the bottom, submerged in a white wine sauce that was finger licking good! I polished them off quite easily. I left wtih a full belly and highly satisfied.

Well this post is a little long so I’ll call it quits for the night.

Any other Tea Lovers out there? Have you ever had Teavana? What are your favorite flavors?

 

One thought on “Show me the Mussels!

  1. I love Teavana (but had no idea that Starbucks just bought them). My favorite blend is Maharaja Chai Oolong/Samurai Chai Mate. They were sampling it around the holidays and I knew I couldn’t leave the store without a canister of it. Now it’s a special treat to stop in, since there is only 1 location near me.

Leave a Reply

