Snow Day!

What a morning! With Chicago expecting 4-9 inches of snow, the plows are out, schools are closed and the snow is falling fast.  My sisters’ school called a Snow Day, so they got to stay home.  I was excited because this meant Anna and I could go to the gym together.  I love working out with a buddy, but it is hard to find one that keeps up with me or pushes me- my sister does both! As a soon to be college cross-country runner, she is super fit! And she loves to work out so I always enjoy going to the gym with her.  We swap new workouts and catch up while on the cardio machines. This morning we hit the gym at 8:30 and right away hopped on the elliptical.  We spent 40 (quick!) minutes chatting.  This is why I love a workout buddy- it makes the time fly.  After 30 minutes, Anna jumped over the stair master for the last 10 minutes.  Then we headed upstairs to do an intense ab workout and some leg machines.

Workout collage

We then hit Starbucks for a nice treat after. I got a soy latte and Anna chose a skinny caramel macchiato.

Now for breakfast! With the snow falling and my soy latte in hand, I wanted something warm and yummy this morning.  So I looked up a recipe for Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes (PPP) and I have found a new love! These pancakes are sumptuous.  They are so full of flavor, I didn’t even need syrup or honey to sweeten them.

Ingredients:

3 eggs

1/4 cup of gluten-free flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg

1/4 cup pumpkin

1/8 cup honey

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon of almond milk

I got the recipe from another website but modified it for my liking. Now if you are not the biggest fan of pumpkin, I encourage you to try them even still.  My sister Catherine made a plain batch of Paleo Pancakes (she does not like pumpkin) but ended up eating half of my batch!

IMG_0073[1]

 

I topped them off with half a banana.  These hit the spot!

After gobbling those pancakes up, I spent the afternoon messing around with our internet (the reason for the late post). After hours spent on the phone with Comcast, I was starving. Lunch time!

I love my protein smoothies so I made a variation of the classic strawberry banana.

Ingredients:

1 scoop whey french vanilla protein powder

handful of spinach

5 strawberries

1/2 banana

1 tablespoon of almond butter

IMG_0074[1]

 

The almond butter really gave it a nice peanut butter kick.

Elvis wanted some 🙂

IMG_0069[1]

 

 

I’m going to buy chocolate protein powder- any suggestions on recipes for different protein smoothies?

One thought on “Snow Day!

Leave a Reply

