Blueberry Vanilla Protein Pancakes

It’s strange how  your body reacts from food. Saturday night was Mike’s mom’s birthday and we went out to celebrate.  Lets just say 2 pieces of bread, fried calamari and a huge piece of carrot cake later- my body was screaming-PLEASE STOP! It was all sooo delicious but I was paying for it the next day. Sunday I was really achy (half just from being sore), I had a headache all day and above all just did not feel good.  I went to bed early- and woke up late.  I had every intention of going to the gym this morning but when I woke up for my alarm- my body was telling me I needed a few more hours of shut eye.  So I listened and thank god I did.  I woke up 2 hours later like I had just awoke from a coma- I guess I really needed some sleep! However, I feel 100x better this morning and I will be at the gym this afternoon!

For breakfast this morning, I have been looking for recipes to incorporate my protein powder without it being in a shake.  So I came up with these: Blueberry Vanilla Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup gluten-free flour

1 scoop of vanilla creme whey protein powder

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

splash of cinnamon

1 cup blueberries

I suggest smashing the blueberries up.  The gluten-free flour makes the batter liquidy and the pancakes not very fluffy so it was a little difficult to flip them and keep the blueberries from rolling all over the pan.  This won’t be a problem if you substitute with another kind of flour. I also added some honey on top for a bit of sweetness

IMG_0145[1] IMG_0146[1]

 

They were yummy-very vanillaey. And I love pancakes so these hit the spot.

Now that I’m starting my day on the right foot- I have lots to do! Going back to school.  Later tonight I’ll post my workout as well.

Have a great day!

 

What foods can you not eat anymore?

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Vanilla Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

